

# City of Port Moody Minutes

### **Inaugural Council Meeting**

Council Chambers Tuesday, November 1, 2022 at 7:23pm

Present: Mayor M. Lahti

Councillor S. Agtarap Councillor D. Dilworth Councillor K. Knowles Councillor A. Lubik Councillor H. Lurbiecki Councillor C. Morrison

**In Attendance:** Paul Rockwood – Acting City Manager

Stephanie Lam – City Clerk and Manager of Legislative Services

Philip Lo - Legislative Services Advisor

Anna Mathewson – General Manager of Community Services

Jennifer Mills - Legislative Services Advisor

Jeff Moi – General Manager of Engineering and Operations

Darcey O'Riordan - Fire Chief

Angie Parnell – General Manager of Corporate Services Julie Pavey-Tomlinson – Director of Environment and Parks

Marc Saunders - Director of Library Services

Kate Zanon – General Manager of Community Development

**Also in Attendance:** Honourable Gregory M. Rideout, Judge of the Provincial Court of

British Columbia

Chief Ed Hall, Kwikwetlem First Nation

Territorial Acknowledgement

1.1 The City Clerk called the meeting to order at 7:06pm and read the

Territorial Acknowledgement.

First Nations Welcoming

1.2 The City Clerk called on Chief Ed Hall of the Kwikwetlem First

Nation to provide the First Nations Welcoming.

Art at Council 1.3 The City Clerk introduced the evening's Art at Council, a

performance by École Moody Middle School of the Arts Choir and

called on all to rise for the singing of O Canada.

**Council's Vision:** Port Moody, City of the Arts, is a unique, safe, vibrant waterfront city of strong neighbourhoods; a complete community that is sustainable and values its natural environment and heritage character.

Please note that Council meetings are recorded and streamed live to the City's website. Any comments you make at the meeting as well as your image may appear on the City's website.

EDMS#593491

#### Oath of Office

- 3. The City Clerk called on the Honourable Gregory M. Rideout, Judge of the Provincial Court of British Columbia, to administer the Oath of Office to:
  - Mayor-Elect Meghan Lahti;
  - Councillor-Elect Samantha Agtarap;
  - Councillor-Elect Diana Dilworth;
  - Councillor-Elect Kyla Knowles;
  - Councillor-Elect Amy Lubik;
  - Councillor-Elect Haven Lurbiecki; and
  - Councillor-Elect Callan Morrison.

## Statutory Meeting Call to Order

2. Mayor Lahti called the statutory meeting to order at 7:23pm.

#### Invocation

3. Mayor Lahti invited the Honourable Gregory M. Rideout to give the Invocation.

## Councillors' Inaugural Address

4. Councillors Agtarap, Dilworth, Knowles, Lubik, Lurbiecki, and Morrison delivered their Inaugural Addresses.

## Mayor's Inaugural Address

5. Mayor Lahti delivered their Inaugural Address.

#### Regional Appointments

#### 6. RC22/312

Moved, seconded, and CARRIED

THAT the following appointments to Regional Bodies be approved:

- TransLink Mayors Council on Regional Transportation:
  - o Mayor Meghan Lahti; and
- Metro Vancouver Regional District Board of Directors:
  - o Representative: Mayor Meghan Lahti; and
  - o Alternate Representative: Councillor Diana Dilworth.

## Committee Appointments

#### 7. <u>RC22/313</u>

Moved, seconded, and CARRIED

THAT the following appointments to the Finance Committee be approved:

- Chair: Councillor Amy Lubik; and
- Vice-Chair: Councillor Samantha Agtarap.

#### RC22/314

Moved, seconded, and CARRIED

THAT the following appointments to the Economic Development Committee be approved:

- Chair: Councillor Diana Dilworth; and
- Vice-Chair: Councillor Haven Lurbiecki.

#### RC22/315

Moved, seconded, and CARRIED

THAT the Economic Development Committee be suspended as of December 1, 2022;

AND THAT, effective immediately, the following Advisory Bodies of Council be suspended:

- Arts and Culture Committee;
- Climate Action Committee;
- Environmental Protection Committee;
- Seniors Focus Committee;
- Tourism Committee; and
- Transportation Committee.

## Acting Mayor Schedule

#### 8. RC22/316

Moved, seconded, and CARRIED

THAT the following Acting Mayor schedule for 2022 be

approved:

appiovea.		
	First Acting	Second Acting
November	Councillor Diana Dilworth	Councillor Kyla Knowles
December	Councillor Amy Lubik	Councillor Callan Morrison

Ad	ic	ì	ırı	nn	ne	ní
<b>AU</b>	ľ	JU				

9. Mayor Lahti adjourned the meeting at 7:57pm.

Certified correct in accordance with section	148(a) of the
Community Charter.	. ,

S. Lam	n, City Clerk	
Confirmed on the _	day of	, 2022.
M. La	hti, Mayor	